The Committee on Archives and History


Fredericka Bell-Berti

Charged with determining and developing clost-effective management procedures for the documentation, collection, storage, maintenance, and use of archival and historical collections of the Society, and implementing those procedures as authorized by the Executive Council.

The committee tracks and consolidates the currently scattered archives of various technical committees. In addition, the Committee ensures the preservation and availability of artifacts and documentary materials for review and possible use dureing future anniversary meetings of the Society.


Hermann von Helmholtz (1821-1894)


Lord Rayleigh (1842-1919)


Katherine Harris (2007 ASA Gold medal recipient)


James West (2006 ASA Gold medal recipient)

Term to 2021
Jont B. Allen
Daniel O. Ludwigsen
Richard J. Peppin
Charles E. Schmid
Term to 2020
Ann E. Bowles
Joseph Gladden
Logan Hargrove
Jennifer Lentz
Allan Pierce
Eric Wolfram

Term to 2019
Jeffrey A. Ketterling
James F. Lynch
Julian D. Maynard

Term to 2018
Jont B. Allen
Daniel O. Ludwigsen
Richard J. Peppin
Robert Port
Charles E. Schmid
Derek Thomas